• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Pic of the Week_Incoming Tide_Whisky Bay_Wilsons Promontory National Park

Incoming Tide_High Winds_Rocky Outcrop_Whisky Bay_Wilsons Promontory National Park

Canon 5D camera and Canon 24mm f1.4 L series lens. Exposure Details: 1.3 seconds @ f22 ISO 400.

Looking for a little excitement and the chance to behold rare beauty? How about the possibility of challenging and changeable weather conditions? Have I got the place for you? Wilsons Promontory National Park, on the southern most tip of the Australian mainland.

The above image was made at Whisky Bay, with the last light of the day, in high wind and hard, pelting rain. Man it was exciting! I climbed up onto an outcrop of rocks by the waters edge for a safe location with a superior vantage point. Due to the gusty wind I set my camera up onto a tripod that I weighed down with a bungy strap attached to my camera bag. I tilted my camera downwards to protect the lens (with lens hood/shade attached) from raindrops and to further concentrate the attention onto the water surging forward with the incoming tide. A slow shutter speed further enhanced the movement of the water and, thereby, the dramatic nature of the image.

Even though my car was parked only 5 minutes away experience has told me to be prepared when photographing in Wilsons Promontory National Park. Weather patterns seem to move across the prom quickly, often with little warning to the unwary sightseer. I always wear strong shoes with a good grip and pack snacks, water, hats (sun and fleece) and a quality Gore-Tex raincoat when I head off for a photography session in the park. I store spare clothes, including shoes and socks, out of view inside the car. I’m often glad I do and, given that I usually stay outside the park, I want to ensure I don’t finish the day wet and cold with a long drive ahead. A little bit of preparation and care makes all the difference. I love being out in the rain, as long as I stay dry.

Image processing was conducted in Adobe Lightroom 2 and Adobe Photoshop CS5.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

