• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

The Editing Process_Part 2_Lightroom Adventures

Soft light highlights this photo of a dam and farmhouse

Canon 5D camera and Canon 17-40mm f4 L series USM lens @ 17mm. Exposure Details: 1/20 second @ f5 ISO 100.

Boy Oh Boy! what a time I’ve had over the last few weeks. Regular visitors to this site would have noticed a drop off in the frequency of my posts over recent times. The reason for this is my own stubborn nature and determination to, no matter what, get the job done to my best ability as quickly as I can.

Some of your may have already read my post from June 21st titled The Editing Process_Part 1 when I described a medium term project I had just undertaken to bring my images, both film and digital camera generated, into a single Lightroom Catalog for filing and prompt, straightforward retrieval.

This process has not been easy and has involved over 2 weeks of very, very long hours with early morning finishes of 2, 3, 4 and even 5am. I’m happy to say that I’ve successfully completed stage one. The next stage, attaching more clearly defined keywords to each image, will begin over the next few days. I expect to have that job completed over the next week or two. This time with a more usual work and sleep pattern.

The final stage of the project will be selecting large quantities of negatives and slides from my substantial archive for scanning. Due to the number of images involved this will be another straightforward and time-consuming task. The resulting scans will then be brought into my Lightroom Catalog, with the appropriate keywords attached, ready for a new life in a number of upcoming projects I have planned.

I expect to have this major undertaking completed by the beginning of November when I’II be heading off to Antarctica to run a photography tour with my friend and colleague, David Burren.

The last couple of weeks have been difficult involving long hours and much monotony. However, the exhilaration of re-discovering important images and bringing them into a single, highly organized filing system for easy retrieval has made the task worthwhile. One of many of these images heads this article. It also makes the final goal, bringing all my film and digital camera generated images into the one system, much closer to reality. This will make my trip to Antarctica feel like a reward and help set me up for an exciting 2011.

How’s your shoebox of images going? Perhaps it could do with a clean out and re-organization.

I’II continue to report on this project and what I learn along the way as it progresses throughout the year.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

