• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Pic of the Week_Glory on a Winter’s Day_Wilsons Promontory National Park

Canon 5D camera and Canon 85mm f1.2 L series USM lens

Wilsons Promontory National Park is one of my favorite locations for landscape photography. It’s a very large park with a range of beach, mountain, rainforest and fauna to keep even the most active photographer busy for weeks.

One of the park’s most special features is its changing weather system. The variations in light that come with the changing weather fronts present the photographer with fantastic photo opportunities. You really feel alive in such moments. Add that to the reward of an early morning start, good technique, an understanding of composition and perspective and a passion for your art and bliss will surely follow. It really doesn’t get any better than that.

The above image was made just after sunrise on an otherwise bleak morning. I’d travelled down to the prom the day before and met a group of photographers for the very last minutes of a late afternoon/sunset shoot at Squeaky Beach, a favorite location for tourists. Getting out of bed the next morning was not easy, particularly given the poor weather. But after a few moments of ill comfort I was off and on the look for interesting subject matter. A quick walk to the beach at Norman Bay and on to Tidal River provided no opportunities in the dim dawn light. I then decided to take a drive up towards Mount Oberon. On the way I saw the sun coming up over the mountaintops and decided to stop by the side of the road. Within a few minutes, and only meters from the car, I’d made an image that made the early morning start well worth the effort.

I love the way this image portrays the soft light and rain-filled atmosphere of that early morning adventure. Not long after the weather further deteriorated and my friends and, with deadlines pressing, I undertook the 3-hour drive back home. With so little time available I almost didn’t make the trip. But the photos I produced made it all worthwhile. And that’s why I do what I do.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

2 Responses

  1. Hi Glen,

    I really like your work. I am interested in doing a course. Can you please contact me with further information?

    Best wishes,
    rachel Morrison

  2. Hi Rachel,

    Thanks so much for your positive comments and request. I’II make contact with you later today.

    Kindest Regards,

    Glenn

Leave a Reply

