• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Sunset_Bemm River_Victoria

A dramatic sunset from the beach near beautiful Bemm River_Victoria

Leica R6.2 camera and Leica 90mm f2 Summicron R series lens with Kodak Ektachrome Elite 100 Extra Color film

Bemm River is situated on the edge of Croajingalong National Park in far southeast Victoria. It’s a glorious location in a sparsely populated area of the state. The clean air and often-wild landscapes provide plenty of inspiration for the photographer. I visited the region on a quick detour from a planned long loupe drive I undertook from Melbourne to Mount Buffalo and along the Great Alpine Road down to Omeo, prior to heading back to Melbourne. It’s a wonderful trip that I undertook in mid February around 10 years ago.

The above image was breathtaking to behold. It was made at the end of a very full day exploring and photographing the region. I started the day before sunrise with an exploration of some of the local waterways with a local fishing identity. While I didn’t get any great shots it was a very interesting excursion. I spent the rest of the day visiting nearby beaches prior to returning after dark in the hope of a good feed. I missed out on a meal, but made the above image that made it all worthwhile.

While many consider sunrises and sunsets to be photography clichés it’s, nevertheless, undeniable that they provide positive, life enriching experiences for those fortunate enough to witness and/or photograph them. Over the years I’ve photographed numerous sunsets, some of them incredibly beautiful. These experiences were amazing. Time seemed to move more slowly and I felt myself very much in the moment. During such events it’s possible to glimpse something of the sublime. Such experiences and the desire to share them with the world is why I do what I do.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

