• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Frivolous Frivolities in Photoshop

Using Photohsop CS5 to turn an otherwise mundane pic into photo illustration

Hasselblad X-PAN II camera and Hasselblad X-PAN II 30mm f5.6 lens with Fuji Velvia 100F ilm

The above image was an adventure in desperation. I’m in the middle of a huge clean out and re-organization of both film and digital images. Along the way I discovered a panoramic image that I’d made a number of years ago on a Hasselblad X-PAN II camera. It’s a detail from the bottom of a cliff face. As its not much of an image I’II end up throwing it away. But, as I’d previously scanned it, I decided to play around for a while in Adobe Photoshop CS5.

It didn’t take long before I grew bored. I remembered the delicious chocolate chip ice cream I’d had at my best friends (Cutts) house last night. So, before you could say waffle cone, I’d converted the image of the cliff face into a melted chocolate surprise. I wondered when my niece Ali was due for a birthday. That prompted the creation of the box and wrapping paper on the right side of the image. The final touch was my name, written in sparkles.

Just a bit of fun and far more an illustration than a photograph. But that’s OK, isn’t it?

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

