• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Rainy Days are Great Days for Photography

Portrait of Shirley, a lovely Chinese girl in Melbourne public garden.

Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24-105mm f4 L series lens@ 93mm. Exposure Details: 1/50 second @ f4 ISO 400

I want to apologize to regular visitors to this site for the lack of posts over recent days. I’ve had a particularly heavy head cold for a week and, as it’s the second time I’ve been hit by this bug over the last month, I’ve decided to ease back on the late nights and get as much sleep as possible. This has allowed me to manage my teaching commitments without compromise. But, with little energy left at the end of the day, my regular posting schedule has suffered. I hope to me back up to my near daily posting schedule within a few days.

Today’s post features images from a practical session that’s part of an introduction to the DSLR camera course I’m currently running. The group and I spent a fun 3 hours wandering around the city of Melbourne on an overcast and, sometimes, rainy day. The image at the top of this post was made during light rain with our participant, Shirley, modeling against a background of autumn leaves. I utilized a shallow depth of field to separate her from an otherwise complicated background and processed the image in such a way to highlight the natural glow of her skin.

Portrait in Melbourne City Laneway

Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24-105mm f4 L series lens @ 28mm. Exposure Details 1/25 second @ f4 ISO 400.

The above image features workshop participant Leigh kicking back for a few moments, just off the side of a busy city laneway. The black-and-white rendering emphasizes the strong lines and shapes within the composition.

Exotic Plant in Melbourne public garden.

Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24-105mm f4 L series lens @ 47mm. Exposure Details 1/8 second @ f8 ISO 1600.

The final image features a close up of some exotic plants in a public garden on the edge of the city. Being drawn by the lines and shapes within the plant a black-and-white seemed appropriate.

Thanks to all participants for their high levels of energy and enthusiasm. I’m going to miss you all.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

