• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

From My Window_Old Delhi_India

Canon New F1 camera and Canon 24mm lens with Agfachrome 100 film

Over recent weeks I’ve very much enjoyed re-visiting some very old images from my first overseas trip in 1998. The above image was made from the upstairs dorm window of a backpacker hotel in Old Delhi, India. It was a relatively cheap place to stay that proved to be a great place to meet other backpackers. The food downstairs was good and, other than the usual problems associated with theft and illness, I enjoyed my time there.

Of course Delhi is madness. Yet, amidst the chaos there is serenity. The wealthy locals and diplomats find it in their palatial compounds, the up class tourist and business person in top of the range hotels and the masses through patience, a devote spirituality and a belief system that defines their place in the cosmos.

I remember making this image. I’d been looking out the window at the rain, a habit I’ve enjoyed since childhood. Rather than causing folks to hurry and seek shelter, the average man seemed to continue on at a steady gate from one task to another. There’s certainly a metaphor and message here for the lazy, overly pampered, hair and fashion obsessed individual – a little of which resides in most of us.

These workers have no time for appearance. They live their life from day to day doing their best to provide their families with the most basic needs. So with pay TV, holidays, ballet lessons for the girls, car payments and a mortgage not an issue, what’s a little rain when you’re trying to feed your family?

While the above image isn’t going to win any awards it does help focus my attention on some of the more important aspects of life. From an image making point of view I was standing where I was with the viewpoint I had. I only had one lens with me at the time. The light and colors were, pretty much, as you see. All I could control was the moment at which I pressed the shutter. I simply waited until the figure carrying the pack above his head moved into the space between the overhead power lines, thereby creating a frame within a frame, before I tripped the shutter. Having the Brahman cow in the foreground added another interesting element that helps identify the scene with India.

The original 35mm transparency was scanned then brought back to life with Adobe Camera RAW and Adobe Photoshop CS4.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

