• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Photoshop Madness_Part 1

Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm Summicron f2 lens with Kodak Ektachrome Elite 100 Extra Color film.

Regular visitors to my site would be aware of some fairly creative images that I’ve made while goofing around in Photoshop. Today’s post is the most recent example.

I made the above image a number of years back in Alice Springs, Central Australia. I liked the image and, until today thought that it had merit. I realize now that I probably made the same mistake most others do with their own photographs – just because you were there and made a picture must mean it’s a good one. I think I was attracted to the subject, and the idea of producing a great photograph of this old rusted out car, in what is a thriving and yet very remote location in the centre of Australia. While I’m not particularly fond of cars there’s a kind of romance associated with the location and the idea of how such a car would have made it to and functioned, all those years ago, in such a difficult environment.

Looking at the scan I realized that I was not being objective enough and that the image was little more than a visual record. And, for me, that’s only the beginning of a great photograph. So I began to mess around in Photoshop, but the result, as seen above, looked pretty fake. Abstraction seemed like a way forward. When in doubt embrace the madness.

Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm Summicron f2 lens with Kodak Ektachrome Elite 100 Extra Color film

I started to wonder if I could play with the colors and tones to bring out a look and feel something akin to opals, for which this country is famous. I started down that path and then, being reminded of some of the creation mythology of the region’s indigenous people, started playing with the idea of the Rainbow Serpent from Aboriginal Australian Dreamtime.

The result as you see is more fun than it is art, but it does suggest potential for this type of work. I hope you enjoy the concept and the result.

The original film scan was processed in Adobe Camera RAW, prior to employing Adobe Photoshop CS4 to achieve the final result.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

