• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Day 15_Summer Coda_Joe on staircase

Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24mm f1.4 L series Aspherical lens @ f4. Exposure Details: 1/50 second @ f2.8 ISO 400

Joe comes to us from the old country (England). He’s joined Summer Coda to make a behind the scenes video documentary highlighting the people and places involved in the making of the film.

During a period of relative inaction I became quite restless. The answer was to make images. I made a number of architectural images inside the hotel in which filming was about to take place. Finally I decided I needed a portrait. Joe was happy to oblige and ended up using the same stairwell for an interview with one of the film’s key stars, Rachel Taylor.

The relatively large window produced a beautifully diffuse light, ideal for this kind of portraiture. I was then able to direct Joe into just the right position to produce a near Rembrandt lighting effect where one side of the face is lit and a triangle of light bounces off the cheek on the shadow side and illuminates the eye. It’s my favorite portrait lighting style.

Adobe Lightroom 2 and Adobe Photoshop CS4 were employed to produce the final result.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

One Response

  1. Hi Glenn,

    Great to see the blog still going strong, I still visit from time to time to browse. I’d like to request an entry on long exposures of 30+ seconds, which I know you have much experience with.

    In other news I’m still on my humble path of professional photography, though am now based in New Caledonia where I’ve come to accompany my French girlfriend.

    As one of your many former students (March this year at CAE) I’d love to show you a folio of my work. If you could contact me via email I’d much appreciate it, but no rush as I know you’re a busy man!

    Cheers,

    Cameron.

Leave a Reply

