• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Summer Coda_Day 10

Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24-105mm f4 L series USM lens @ 70mm. Exposure Details: 1/30 second f11 @ ISO 400.

Here are a few shots of some lovely folk involved as extras in the film Summer Coda. Day 10 included a shoot in Merbein, a small town close to Mildura where the film is set. After film was finished I asked permission to make a few quick snaps of these good folk and, as is the case with country people, they were happy to help and a pleasure to deal with.

While my second day on the shoot was warm, 36 degrees Celsius was somewhat easier to cope with than the previous day’s maximum of 43 degrees. And, although the increasing cloud cover did produce a more humid environment it provided me with the advantage of somewhat softer light.

All 3 images were made under verandah light, one of my favorite light sources. The above image features lovely, pastel colors and a diagonal line drawing the eye, across the line of figures, from the front to the back of the image. The fact that all primary figures, people and dogs alike, are looking in the same direction, adds a sense of balance to the image.

The next image features a really friendly gentleman and his dog. The luminous light brought out his honest, affable and easygoing personality. Country life, I remember it well. Though, if I knew then what I do now, I would have appreciated it and the good folk around me much more at the time.

Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24-105mm f4 L series USM lens @ 32mm. Exposure Details: 1/60 second @ f8 ISO 400

Today’s final image is of a lovely local girl photographed under verandah light. The gorgeous yellow dress and her sweet, wholesome nature inspired me to make the picture.

 

Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24-105mm f4 L series USM lens @ 73mm. Exposure Details: 1/50 second @ f8 ISO 400

All images were processed in Adobe Lightroom 2 and Adobe Photoshop CS4. I hope you’ll all enjoy re-visiting this site and seeing more behind the scenes images from what promises to be a lovely Australian made film. This is a production with which I’m proud to be associated, albeit in a minor way.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

8 Responses

  1. that girl in yellow dress is me lol

  2. Hi there Sharnie,

    I’m glad you made it to the site and I hope you like the pic. I really appreciate the fact that you allowed me to make such a nice photo of you. It was a great day and the whole crew enjoyed working in your town very much. I hope you get to see the film when it’s all finished. Last I heard was that it would be released in September. There will be a red carpet release in Melbourne and, hopefully, something similar in Mildura. It’s a nice way to say thanks to the locals who were so kind to the crew during our stay.

    All the best,

    Glenn

  3. yer, it premiered on the 1st but i didnt get to go to it because i am in Tasmania living at the moment, but it premiers here on the 21st of this month, i am going to go to that!!

  4. i havnt seen the movie yet! i am living in tasmania till next year and it hasnt premiered here yet! But i hope to see it soon! 🙂

  5. hey, i had a SWEET day at the shoot, i consider myself the main star in the movie. as i am the prettiest girl there. my hometown rocks so thanks for taking my photo bruvs as i am soooooooo happy with it. it is all over my wall on facebook. for all the pedo’s to see! 🙂 ❤ ya guts!

  6. Today’s final image is of a lovely local girl photographed under verandah light. The gorgeous yellow dress and her sweet, wholesome nature inspired me to make the picture.

  7. I’m glad you made it to the site and I hope you like the pic. I really appreciate the fact that you allowed me to make such a nice photo of you. It was a great day and the whole crew enjoyed working in your town very much. I hope you get to see the film when it’s all finished. Last I heard was that it would be released in September. There will be a red carpet release in Melbourne and, hopefully, something similar in Mildura. It’s a nice way to say thanks to the locals who were so kind to the crew during our stay.
    All the best,
    Glenn

  8. HEY SHARNIE!!!!!!!!!!!!! TASSIE GIRl

Leave a Reply

