• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Chalk Sticks_Melbourne_Australia

 

Canon 5D camera with Canon 24mm f1.4 L series USM lens

Canon 5D camera with Canon 24mm f1.4 L series Aspherical lens

Architectural delights like these columns, known to locals as the ‘chalk sticks’, are great fun to photograph. Situated at the beginning of the Tullamarine Freeway in Melbourne, Victoria these columns are particularly colourful against a brilliant blue sky. Perhaps it’s the sheer simplicity of these structures that makes them so successful. They are both a wonderful welcome and farewell from the city of Melbourne for folks coming to and from Tullamarine International Airport.

I employed a Polarising filer to enhance overall color saturation and deepen (darken) the color of the blue sky. Further enhancements to color and contrast were achieved in Adobe Lightroom 2 and Adobe Photoshop CS3.

I hope you enjoy the image and that it inspires you to get out and about and make the most of the light, regardless of the weather you’re experiencing, in your own neck of the woods.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

2 Responses

  1. Glen Guy of Blueskyphotography,

    My husband just bought a HDTV. I used to have a brilliant Ken Done litho over the mantel. I’ve searched hi and low for a screen saver that I like as much, and found your chalksticks. They are brilliant! I need 1080 x 1920 pixels….is it possible to acquire from you the ability to use this as a screen saver at the number of pixels I need? Pls advise. Many thanks.

  2. Hi Jane,

    Thanks so much for your inquiry. I’m sorry for the late reply. I’m in the process of upgrading my computer system and as a consequence have been without a computer for over a week. The new system, when it finally arrives, will be amazing. In the mean time access to email and the ability to produce new posts has been significantly reduced. It will be a week or more before I’m back on track.

    I have been in the business of selling images, as fine prints and in digital format for many years. Details regarding availability and pricing will be posted by the end of the month. If, however, you’d like to act more quickly feel free to give me a call on 0412-562 265.

    Kindest Regards,

    Glenn

Leave a Reply

