• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Mantra_Lhasa_Tibet

 

Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm-M f2 Aspherical lens with Kodak Ektachrome Elite 100 Extra Color film

Hasselblad 500CW camera and Hasselblad 150mm f4 Sonnar lens with Kodak Professional Portra 160VC film

I discovered this mantra carved onto a rock on a hill overlooking the Potala Palace in Lhasa, Tibet. Often carved as a kind of meditation, I believe the process combines religious and artistic practices. It is for this reason that I consider such pieces to be art rather than craft.

I cropped the original medium format (square) color negative into landscape format prior to rendering in black-and-white. I feel the resulting image better conveys the significance of the mantra as well as the dramatic beauty of the country’s harsh climate and terrain. I employed Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop CS3 to process the image. Subtle split toning was applied to warm the highlights and cool the shadows.

I’ve been fortunate enough to travel to Tibet on two occasions. In 1988 I travelled from Lhasa to Kathmandu, Nepal including a side trip to Everest Base Camp on the Tibetan side. In 2000 I further explored Lhasa and visited the recently restored Ganden Gompa (Monastery) at 5,000 meters above sea level. I look forward to my next trip, which I expect will include the new train journey from Beijing to Lhasa. I can’t wait.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography  

Leave a Reply

