• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Group Shot_Myanmar

 

Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm Summicron f2 lens with Kodak Ektachrome Elite 100 Extra Color film

Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm f2 Summicron-M lens with Kodak Ektachrome Elite 100 Extra Color film

Here’s an image that’s bothered me for a long time. I was travelling in Myanmar (Burma) and had risen very early to ascend a hilltop not far from the famous temple site, Bagan. While the sunrise was not spectacular I did make several good shots of the surrounding landscape. Afterwards I descended towards the famous Arrewaddy River where I met a family who were camped on a small sandbar just offshore. They were lovely people, but quite shy so I was very careful not to bring the camera out until after I’d gained their confidence and permission to do so.

The problem I had was that the light, reflecting off the white sand, was blindingly bright. I couldn’t see a thing without my polarising sunglasses. What’s more the exceptionally bright light resulted in very, very dark shadows. Terrible conditions for portrait photography resulting in bright, burned out areas on the skin, dark eyes and screwed up faces.

Fortunately I did manage to make a few images under softer light provided by a tent-like structure. The above image, however, was made outside. To ensure the kids had their eyes open I positioned them with the sun somewhat behind them. In fact their faces are side lit, resulting in very dark shadows on the other side of the face. And while it is possible to expose in such a way to lighten the shadows, the brighter side of the face would also be lightened to the same degree causing it to render near white. It’s often possible to expose in such a way to render the brighter parts of the image with the density you’d like and then add fill flash or employ a reflector to ensure the shadows don’t record too dark. But, in this case, the variety of camera-to-subject distances ruled out either approach. For example, if I’d employed on-camera flash the subjects in the foreground would have received much more light then those in the background.

My only solution was our old friend Photoshop. I’m not proud to say that I was forced to do more work than I’ve ever had to do, with the possible exception of another one or two images, to produce the above result. It’s still very much a ‘work in progress’. I’ve converted the original color transparency (slide) into black-and-white, prior to applying a gentle warm color (tone) to produce a more life-affirming result. The light spots evident in the shadow side of the kids faces are actually a plant extract smeared over the skin as a kind of natural sun screen.  

From a design point of view we are not looking at people, we are looking at circles (ovals, if you prefer) and triangles. The circles are linked by invisible lines which, when connected, form the triangular shapes. There is nothing new in this technique, it’s clearly evident in oil paintings from hundreds of years ago. But it is these lines and shapes that link the individual faces into a cohesive composition. Try it for yourself. 

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography 

5 Responses

  1. Wow, this looks amazing large.

  2. Amazing shot, I like the composition–it seemed like everything fitted together with a curving pattern.

    By the way, you mentioned that you positioned them with their backs to the sun. I wonder what kind of light is it that comes from the right side of the view, since this was taken outside. It helped a lot, I think, in avoiding a silhouette capture, and it helped define their facial expression. =)

  3. Thanks so much. It’s great to get such positive feedback, particularly as it was such a difficult image – both to shoot and process.

    Kindest Regards,

    Glenn

  4. Melisa,

    You are 100% on the ball. Thanks, I don’t know how I managed to let that one through. I’ve edited the post to fix up my mistake. That you took the time to inform me of my error is greatly appreciated. The fact that you did it in such a diplomatic fashion speaks volumes to your character. Let’s hope your generosity and positive attitude spreads. This is how we change and save the world – one good action at a time.

    Kindest Regards,

    Glenn

  5. Hi Glenn,

    Thanks very much for updating, now I understand. =)

    I am new to photography and I’m trying to learn the basics, so I hope you’d bear with my curious queries. I find your site very, very helpful. I love reading your posts and I try to remember, as much as I can, the nuggets you sow here and there.

    Thanks again, and kindest regards too. =)

Leave a Reply

