• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Fire Dancing_Myanmar

 

Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm f2 Summicron-M Aspherical lens with Kodak Professional Ektachrome 100VS film

Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm f2 Summicron-M Aspherical lens with Kodak Professional Ektachrome 100VS film

Here’s a bit of fun. I was on route between major points of interest in Myanmar when I noticed, out of the corner of my eye, a group of local folk literally dancing with fire. I was able to make a quick snap as I passed by. Within moments the fires were out and any chance of similar photos gone. I’d never seen anything quite like it so, while not a great image it is, for me at least, quite unique.

The image was made with a Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm f2 Summicron Aspherical-M lens with Kodak Professional Ektachrome E100VS film. While the shot worked well enough in its original aspect ratio, I believe the panoramic format helps concentrate the eye on the people dancing within the circles of fire. I doubt that I’ve cropped an image more than half a dozen times in my life. So, at least from my experience, that makes this image both unique and unusual.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

