• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Nature’s Power_Great Ocean Road

 

Canon 5D camera and Canon 180mm f3.5 L series USM lens

Canon 5D camera and Canon 180mm f3.5 L series USM lens

Wow! Making this image was a thrilling experience. I was photographing in the Port Campbell National Park, near the famous Twelve Apostles, along the Great Ocean Road in Victoria, Australia. Sunset had come and gone and I was photographing during the twilight, before the landscape was consumed by darkness.

I was enthralled by the power of the waves as they crashed over the rock, once a part of the mainland. I knew that the long exposure, required by the low light under which I was working, would allow me to record the movement of the water around and over the rock. By further closing down my lens aperture less light would reach the sensor and, as a consequence, the exposure time was extended. This suited my needs and produced the result you see above.

I hope this image conveys my impression of the scene as it unfolded before me. As well as illustrating the power of nature I want to provide a link to the sense of mystery I experienced as the waves and rock seemed to merge into a single formless entity. As such I hope this image is a metaphor for the transient nature of existence.  

I employed a Canon 5D camera and the telephoto capability of the Canon 180mm f3.5 Macro L series USM lens to isolate the rock and waves from the surrounding Southern Ocean. Image processing was conducted through Adobe Photoshop Lightroom and Adobe Photoshop CS3.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography  

2 Responses

  1. This image is stunning, marvelous!

    It does look like a metaphor for the transient nature of existence. It also reveals something ethereal. The composition of the waves hitting the rock formation in a hazy fashion reminds me of the beauty of life amidst its own struggles. =)

  2. Hi Melisa,

    I really appreciate the time you’ve taken to make comments on a number of my posts. I’m sure your responses will be useful to many folks who visit the site.

    Kindest Regards,

    Glenn

Leave a Reply

