• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Lake Yamdrok_Tibet_China

 

Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm f2 Summicron-M Aspherical lens with Kodak Ektachrome Elite 100 Extra Color film

Leica M6 camera and Leica 35mm f2 Summicron-M Aspherical lens with Kodak Ektachrome Elite 100 Extra Color film

Here’s an older image featuring Lake Yamdrok. Situated approximately 100km south east of Lhasa in Tibet, China, the 72km long lake is the third largest in Tibet. 

The lake is said to resemble a scorpion, when viewed from the air, and had remained on my photographic wish list since I first travelled past it in July 1988 on my way to Mt. Everest and onto Nepal. That visit was during the Tibetan summer when the day was fine and the lake a beautiful turquoise color.

The above image was made on my return trip during the Tibetan winter of January 2000. Temperatures were in the vicinity of -10 degrees Celcius, certainly outside the comfort zone for this little Koala Bear. Sadly, despite best intentions, the weather made the road trip much longer than expected and, with car problems and the need to get back to Lhasa the same evening, I had very little time to photograph the lake.

After employing Adobe Photoshop CS3 to render the image in black-and-white and then split tone it, I’m happy with the final result. Nothing like what I’d dreamed about, but worthwhile nevertheless. I’m glad I didn’t let the poor weather cause me to turn around and abandon my dream. There are times when just seeing something through is reward enough. In this case I have the added bonus of an image by which I can remember the adventure.

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

