• Article Index

  • Learn Photography

  • Family Portraits

Pic of the Week – Sleeping Buddha

This image is important to me. The original photograph was made at Duck Point, Wilsons Promontory National Park in Victoria, Australia. The Prom is one of my favourite landscape locations, situated on the southern most tip of the Australian mainland. The weather at the Prom is very changeable, and is often affected by cold waters bringing rain and wind from the Southern Ocean. But, together with the beautiful natural beaches, mountains, walks and secluded gullies it’s this diversity in weather pattern that adds a sense of drama to the park. Unless you’re on an overnight or multi day walk, a range of facilities are rarely too far away. Yet, despite this, much of the prom is actually quite wild, a fact evident to anyone visiting many of the more secluded locations. The feeling of being emersed in nature is particularly strong when you visit at the edges of the day and/or off-season.

While I don’t refer to myself as a religious person I have, for some time, had a fascination with world religions. Many of my travels have taken me to Buddhist countries and, as a consequence, I have developed an interest and some understanding of that religion. I’ve photographed and exhibited many images featuring Buddha sculptures. 

 

Leica M6 Camera with 35mm Summicron f 2 lens and Fuji Velvia Film

Leica M6 Camera with 35mm Summicron f 2 lens and Fuji Velvia Film

The making of this image at a fairly remote, yet potentially interesting site, was an amazing experience. I struggled out of bed, in the dark, on a cold, bleak morning in the hope that I’d be fortunate enough to be blessed with inspirational light. I’d previously photographed the location on several occasions with the feeling that it had much more to offer than the light and weather had revealed. What awaited me, on the final day of my trip, was one of the best experiences of my life. I must have spent around 7 hours that morning photographing along a 100-meter stretch of coastline. Variations of light and color, together with the changing tides, provided numerous interpretations of the landscape throughout the morning. I was alone and totally in the moment. It was exhilarating and the fastest 7 waking hours I can remember.

 

I work in a fairly contemplative manner, particularly in the landscape, and the amount of frames I shoot hasn’t changed that much from my days of shooting film. On that day I employed a Hasselblad X-PAN camera with a wonderful 30mm f5.6 lens and a Leica M6 camera with 21mm Elmarit f2.8 and 35mm Summicron f2 lenses. This was the last day of my trip and I probably had around 7 rolls of film left. Enough for 3 good days the way I shoot. I left when the film ran out.

While I’m very happy with a range of images made that day, this image is particularly important to me as it illustrates much of my life’s journey and yet sits outside of time, as I seemed to on that very special morning.

 

© Copyright All Rights Reserved

Glenn Guy, Blue Sky Photography

Leave a Reply

